75

As I drive, I observe the other cars. I watch some fly by as I pass others on the right, on the left. Some stick close, others now out of sight. But mostly I observe the car that follows right behind. Every move I make mirrored by this. Going 10 over on cruise, it seems to desire that too. So it finds a car to coast behind. Is it uncomfortable doing so on its own? When I passed it, it was going rather slow, but when I went by it picked up its pace and took its place in line. I don’t know why this car follows from behind, but it has something to do with the driver inside. This younger girl which I first saw about 10 miles ago must have something which makes her follow this guy. Is it fear which resides inside of going the speed she so wants to be? Passing cars, yet getting passed too, it’s not an extravagant speed at all. It’s comfortable though, faster than the semis, slower than those quicker. No reason to worry about the police, not a big deal if my 75 slows. I’ve found a speed that seems to do as I need. But this girl behind me will only follow me; She won’t go this fast on her own. But why I have asked, as I take the lead, will this girl only follow when going this speed? Surely she knows 10 over is no danger… Surely she knows to go slower is no problem either… But as I passed by, she took her place behind. I could sit here and psychoanalyze, but I do believe I now have to pee. So I decide to pull off and take my leave from the girl that will only go 75 from behind. As I take the off ramp, I now wonder to myself will she stay at that speed or will she slow down after I leave? I contemplate for a second whether to stay on and see, but I really do have to pee. Chevron it is, I shall never see whether this girl will stay at this speed…

Meta

Leave a comment