The First Winter

My warmth fades, the leaves fall,
All the joy I have know disappears.
I was born with flowers and bounty
Loving parents fed me and taught me
Now they urge me to leave… To die?
What have I done to deserve this?
Did I play too rough? Too much?
Am I too burdensome for them?
All the newborns share my fate.
There must be something happening.
This death time will surely kill us all.
We must have been victims of timing.
Otherwise, our parents would keep us.
Was all of their love a farce?
Are we to be cast aside at first danger?
I do not understand why they leave us
When my brother died, my mom cried
My dad stayed strong but i felt the pain
So why would they leave me now?
Just as the world becomes dark?
Fuck them, I will live out of spite

The warmth came back! Green abounds!
The depression has long since past!
Three weeks past, I saw purple… Purple!
Not gray, but a bright purple flower!
And mom and dad just came to visit!
They still love me! And I’m an aunt!
My little nieces and nephews are so little!
They told me all about why they left…

I had to learn pain to live freely.
It wasn’t my fault, it was a gift.
Mom cried when she told me
“All my other girls have died, Layla.
You will be a mother this time next year
The joy is only comparable to the pain
But now, you are ready to live your life.
Get strong, learn well, and find love.
This was your first winter, Layla.
There will be more, snowy and tearful
But the Springs and Summers, they’re joyful”

I told them all that had happened to me.
I evaded a cheetah, then kept in the pack.
I got sick from a new plant, then stuck to what i knew
I saw many die from cold and huddled for warmth
I did not want to move from sadness until another played with me.
I did the same to him a few days later and now we’re “huddlers”
And many, many more stories burst forth.
Until at last, I told them my resolute hateful words
And thanked them for making me become me
As they left, I said “After my first Winter, I am me.”
They began to cry until their kids stealth attacked from a bush.

The Beginning

Leave a comment